Skip To Main Content

School Clubs

School Clubs for 2023-2024

AVID Club (Achievement Via Individual Determination)
Advisor: Leslie Peoples [Mathematics & AVID Teacher]   Room: A-9
E-Mail: lpeoples@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Place & Time:
Purpose:

 

Brown Issues (Hispanic Matters Focus)
Advisor: Dr. Ana Segoviano [World Language Teacher]   Room: D28
E-Mail: ana.segoviano@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time
Purpose: Brown Issues is a state-wide organization dedicated to cultivating the next generation of Brown Leaders through civic engagement, healing, and narrative change. We Will #WakeTheGiant

 

BSU (Black Student Union)
Advisor:  Andrea Leuschen [Vice Principal] & Derek Belton [School & Community Intervention Assistant]
E-Mail:  andrea.leuschen@sanjuan.edu   &   darik.belton@sanjuan.edu 
Meeting Day & Time:  Mondays at the Lunch Break Every Other Week
Purpose:  The Mesa Verde Black Student Union is an opportunity for students to find self-awareness, leadership skills, and connectedness. We also have guest speakers from the community to share entrepreneurial skills, leadership opportunities, and other culturally relevant connections.  The student will also attend virtual meetings with the Black Students of California United (BSCU).

 

Chess Club
Advisor: Raji Scroggin [VAPA Art Teacher]   Room: A-11
Contact: Raji.Scroggin@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time: Every day during the lunch break
Purpose:  We are currently living in a chess boom; the number of online chess players has increased nearly 200% in the last two years! Whether you watched The Queen’s Gambit or simply picked up the game during the pandemic, you are welcome to stop by, challenge fellow peers and learn chess strategy from Mr. Raji!

 

Christian Club
Advisor: Marina Yeremuk [Mathematics Teacher]   Room:  A-18
Contact: Marina.Yeremuk@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time:
Purpose:

 

Culinary Club
Advisor: Charrlee Ramey-Davis [SpEd Teacher]  Room: D-14
Contact:  charrlee.rameydavis@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time: Third Friday of Each Month at the Lunch Break
Purpose: 

 

D&D (Dungeons & Dragons) Club
Advisor: Tram-Anh Nguyen [School Psychologist]   Room: A-
Contact: tram-anh.nguyen@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time:
Purpose:

 

Drama Club
Advisor: Sean Melby [Drama Teacher]   Room: PAC Warehouse Office (Behind the stage area)
Contact: sean.melby@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time: Every Tuesday at lunch
Purpose: To support Mesa Verde's Theatre department and productions through volunteering, fundraising, and encouraging students to audition for our shows.

 

Environmental Club
Advisor: Chris Cimino [Science Teacher]   Room: D-4
Contact: ccimino@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time: Every other Thursday during lunch
Purpose: To bring awareness about environmental issues and to better our school and community through projects.  Future projects> organize a recycling system, cleanup, composting system, beautify our campus, water dispense project
Benefits: Honor chords; Community service hours
Social Media: Follow us on Instagram @ environmental_mvhs.

 

Equity Club
Advisor: Andrea Leuschen [Vice Principal) & David Del Grande [Teacher]  Room: D-12
Contact: Email: andrea.leuschen@sanjuan.edu & David.DelGrande@sanjuan.
Meeting Day & Time: Every other Tuesdays at lunch in room D12.
Purpose: The Equity Club is a student led group that promotes community through equity. We serve as a safe place for all students to connect and discuss issues within our school campus. The objective is to create a more equitable environment for all students.

 

Rainbow Alliance
Advisors: Elizabeth Hernandez [Counselor] & Grachelle To [Counselor]
Contactelizabeth.hernandez@sanjuan.edu   &   grachelle.to@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time: 1st meeting February 15 @ lunch, Room A-27
Purpose: To unite LGBTQ+ and allied youth to build community and organize around issues impacting them at Mesa Verde and the surrounding community. 

 

Jazz Club
Advisor: Peter Mancina [VAPA - Band Teacher]  Room: A-2
Contact: peter.mancina@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time: MTsW 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Purpose: To learn about and perform Jazz music. Emphasis on improvisational skills.

 

Key Club (Kiwanis Key Club International)
Advisor: Leslie Peoples [Mathematics & AVID Teacher]   Room: A-9
E-Mail: lpeoples@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Place & Time:
Purpose:

 

Link Crew
Advisor: William Harrington [Health Teacher]   Room: C-2
Contact: William.Harrington@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time: TBA
Purpose:  The Link Crew connects high achieving Juniors and Seniors with incoming Freshmen to help them adjust to high school life.  The Link Crew puts on events; including Freshmen Orientation, Study Sessions, and the Freshmen BBQ, to name a few.

 

Music Club
Advisor: Peter Mancina [VAPA - Band Teacher]   Room: A-3
E-Mail: Peter.Mancina@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time:  Wednesdays at the Lunch Break
Purpose:  To meet and discuss improvements to the Mesa Verde Music Program. We plan concerts, fundraisers, and curriculum with student input.

 

PE Club
Advisor: Kevin Anderson [Physical Education Teacher]   Room: Boys PE Office
E-Mail: kanderson@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time:
Purpose:

 

Yearbook
Advisor: Rene Sanchez [English & Yearbook Teacher]   Room: K-301
E-Mail: asanchez@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time:
Purpose:

 

Young Life Club
Advisor: Laura Troppmann [Student Government & Activities Director]   Room: A-21
E-Mail: ltroppmann@sanjuan.edu
Meeting Day & Time:
Purpose: